Welcome to the Early Years Foundation Stage

Mrs Elvin is our EYFS Leader 

The Foundation Stage Curriculum is based on the principles of the Early Years Foundation Stage. It is a skills-based curriculum which is divided into three Prime areas and four Specific areas.

The Prime areas are:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development

The Specific areas are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

Learning to learn is a vital part of the EYFS curriculum and it is something that helps children in order for them to become effective, life long learners.

Through careful planning, the children foster the characteristics of effective learning. These are:

  • Playing and exploring – children investigate and experience things and ‘have a go’
  • Active learning – children concentrate and keep on trying if they encounter difficulties and enjoy achievements
  • Creating and thinking critically – children have and develop their own ideas, make links between ideas and develop strategies for doing things.

Our EYFS environment is welcoming, stimulating and child centred. The indoor and outdoor classrooms are organised  into different areas of continuous provision to reflect the seven areas of learning.

Children access both classrooms – what ever the weather! The outdoor environment provides a dynamic and natural space for learning and developing for our children. We place great importance on our outdoor learning.

Our staff facilitate learning. We do this through observations and interactions. The staff know the children very well and have a sound understanding of child development. This ensures that the adults enhance and extend each child’s learning at the appropriate time and level.

Files to Download